Jaryd

Back to Square One

In Cup of Cool Water, Habitat for Humanity, Spokane on September 15, 2007 at 12:12 pm

I was supposed to meet with a possible advisor yesterday (Friday), and I did. But… we had a meeting at 2:00 PM (which I was 5 minutes early for) but she didn’t come in until 2:10-ish. And when she came in two other guys followed her to her office and began discussing a matter about Work-study. This proceeded for 25 minutes before she noticed me.

I sat there, for 25 minutes listening to their conversation, screaming in my head ‘I have an appointment! My time is important, too!’ I was rather upset, but never let it show. Around 2:35 she suddenly called, ‘Are you Jaryd?’ To which I meekly responded, ‘Yes.’ She was very sorry that she hadn’t noticed the time and let me wait this long. She took another three minutes or so to finish up her other conversation before she called me in to her office.

I understand it was a mistake and I hold no grudge, but at the time I was pretty darn angry. Anyways… so we began talking and she asked me what she could do to help me with the Habitat club. I told her I needed an advisor right now to help bounce ideas off of. She told me she had just met a faculty member that actually was on the Habitat for Humanity Spokane Board of Directors.

Perfect!

We went to go find him. He supposedly was in the chapel, which he was, and we started talking about the club. He is already an advisor to two other clubs, so he said he would be weary about advising another one. Ok, I thought, that’s cool. But he would still like to talk about it… on Wednesday! AAHH!! I already waited a week to talk to Professor Rhodes, now I have to wait another half-week to talk to him??!?!?! I just want to help people!

So now I am back to square one. Waiting. Seems to be a lot of what I am doing these days when it comes to the Habitat club. I can’t get anything going without and advisor and some officers… it will happen though. I will happen.

And also, I tried to go to the Cup of Cool Water (a street youth outreach program) training session last night, but I didn’t know that Spokane was designed by idiot, so that posed a problem. I drove around looking for it (and yes, I google-map’d it, so I kind of knew where I should be). When I kind of found it, there was no parking around. anywhere. The only thing was the pay parking and I didn’t have any change, and I sure am not getting my car-towed to go to an informational meeting. Since I didn’t go to that meeting, I can’t go to today’s meeting. Which means I will have to wait until February to do it. Gar!

And then I spent 45 minutes trying to find Whitworth again because the road I drove down on turns into a one way, so I couldn’t just go back the way I came. Nice.

It is probably for the best though, seeing as how I need to concentrate my energy on the Habitat club. So we will see what happens. Stay tuned for more of my manic mishaps!

Tune in next week. Same bat-time, same bat-channel!

  1. Aw that sucks… hahaha… But at least now you CAN concentrate on Habitat for Humanity. Things will get better with time… I KNOW IT!!

  2. Sometimes it seems you have to do everything yourself, which can be pretty daunting… Keep the chin up, and fight the good fight. I’m sure everything will work itself out in the end.

    Spread the love,
    Hare Krishna,

    Paul

  3. I know what you are talking about with the layout of Spokane, there are some parts that are just stupid. Just be patient and keep on going, it will all work out soon.

    Love Mom and Dad.

  4. Just got back from Cannon Beach and just read your blog, don’t give up, things will work out. I’m proud of how you are taking things in your own hands and trying to get things done. I hope things are going well with your classes. I am praying for you!!!!! Love, Nana

Leave a Reply

