Jaryd

Square 1.1

In Habitat for Humanity, Spokane, Whitworth on September 22, 2007 at 2:38 pm

Ok, so I’m slowly moving away from square one on the whole Habitat for Humanity Whitworth chapter. I met with Dr. Sittser, who is on the Habitat for Humanity Spokane Board of Directors luckily, and he gave me some suggestions for recruiting some students to the cause. I don’t know if he will be able to advise us because he already advises two other clubs, but here’s to hoping. These are some of the ideas he gave me:

1) Go for small groups (athletic teams, bible studies, any small group). They already have established leadership and it is is easier for their leaders to influence them to go than me.
2) Advertise a lot. Advertise everywhere.
3) Go to the Service Learning Fair (I already was going to attend that, though. Professor Rhodes is going to make an announcement at the fair for anyone ho wants to get some service hours to volunteer with me tat the local Habitat. And then hopefully they will want to join.)
4) Make connections with everyone I can, and tell them what I’m doing.

Luckily, some of this already happened. My mom knows a brother of a professor here and he passed on my name to him (thanks Mom!), and he passed on my name to Mr. Spaun (the Assistant Director of the Service-Learning/Community Engagement department). He contacted me yesterday and we set up a meeting time to exchange some thoughts on getting Habitat underway. Hopefully he will be able to advise us, or I might have to go back to Professor Rhodes and see if she wants to! At the very least this meeting will give me some more ideas, and that is always helpful.

I really want an advisor because I feel like I’m doing everything for this to get done (which I basically am, seeing as how I’m pretty much alone in it so far. But a big thank you to my RA Jeff for helping me out and encouraging me so much!) It feels just like last year when everyone was too busy for Students for Global Wellness and I took over. There were some great kids involved with it, doing Habitat builds and the such, but not much other leadership.

I just don’t want to do it alone anymore. Even though it is somewhat nice to do things by myself, it would be great to rely on someone else for something. I feel like I can’t handle it, but I know I can. If I don’t do it, it won’t get done. So I will handle it, alone or otherwise. Keep me in your prayers!

Okay, enough of the feel sorry for myself junk. There’s more work to be done. 🙂

  1. Hi Jaryd, sounds like you are really getting things going. Keep up the good work, and I will pray others will come a long side of you and help out. I’m proud of how hard you are working on this. Love you, Nana

Leave a Reply

