Jaryd

I’ll Miss You Buddy

In Uncategorized on September 24, 2007 at 8:00 pm

So I got a call from my dad today saying that my childhood dog, Buddy, died. I wanted to take a moment and devote some time to him. He was an amazing dog that loved to be loved, and I hope that I loved him enough while he was with us. We had him for a little over 10 years, and in those 10 years he never disappointed me. Sure, there were times when he would pee on the carpet or bark too late, or even throw up in my room (a few times I even stepped in it). I was angry at those moments, but now, I can safely say that those are all beautiful memories I have with one of my best friends.

If any dog deserves to go to Heaven, it’s Buddy. I’m amazed that he turned out as gentle as he did. His previous owner’s left him in a kennel all day because they had no fence around their backyard. That would explain why he ran around like crazy, even in his last weeks. But that doesn’t explain his affection and trust towards people. He never made me feel like he didn’t trust me, even in the beginning, only that he loved me and wanted to be with me.

He slept in my room for years, and now it is more clear than ever how much I will miss those nights. Sometimes he would wake up randomly and come over to my bed and push his nose against my arm, trying to get me to pet him. I usually would for a moment, then tell him to go back to sleep, which he usually did because he was such a good dog. I wish now that I had pet him every single one of those times, instead of dismissing him in my tiredness.

I love you Buddy, I won’t ever forget you, and I hope you know that you gave me more cherished memories and affection than I can ever repay you for. I will miss you dearly, old friend. You may think this is overly sentimental for a dog, if you do then you have never had a pet like him.

Goodbye Buddy.

  1. Hi Jaryd, I am so sorry about Buddy, we all loved him. He was a very special dog and we will all remember him. I believe God has a special place for dogs and I know Buddy is there. You were all truly lucky to have had him as part of your family. Love you, Nana

  2. Jaryd,
    We’re all still really hurting from Buddy’s passing, but he gave us a lot of happiness and good memories and we gave him a good home and he was very loved.
    We love you,
    Mom and Dad

  3. Jaryd,
    I was so sad & sorry to hear about Buddy. It is so hard losing a pet. I’ve lost 2 kitties in the last 5 years and it’s so hard, but it’s comforting to know they are playing with Buddy and having a good time with each other up in kitty/doggie heaven. Where they have no pain or illnesses. Take care. Love ya bunches and I’m thinkin of you and your family. OOOOO XXXXXX

    Aunty Jenny 🙂

  4. Jaryd,
    We want to share with you what we have already sent to your mom and dad about Buddy’s passing.

    Marjie & Keith, I was stunned to hear of Buddy’s passing. I knew he had heart trouble and had a problem with seizures, but I never thought there was a potential for this to happen so soon. I know that I am always complaining about dogs having wet noses and slobbery tongues, but I liked Buddy. He was pretty docile in the wet nose and slobbery tongue department. I remember petting him, I think it was the last time we were over there (I know it was a big surprise to everyone), and I normally don’t pet dogs. I am glad I decided to pet him and it seems to me now like something or somebody told me to do it. Maybe it was because I knew that he was ill. I know that he was much-loved and was very important to all of you and that you will miss him very much. We read Jaryd’s blog entry and found it very moving. I was picturing in my mind how Buddy would come up and nuzzle Jaryd’s arm to be petted. It made me see “behind the scenes” and beyond what we normally saw of Buddy, which was him walking around the house and coming up to people wanting to be petted. It is easy to forget that animals, like people, need love as well.

    We are really glad that you have found an advisor to help you in your efforts to do good for humanity.

    We love you Jaryd and are glad you have it in your heart to do the good that you do.

    Nana & Papa

Leave a Reply

