Jaryd

Mentors and Students Together

In Mentors and Students Together, Whitworth on December 1, 2007 at 3:18 pm

I received an email today about Mentors and Students Together, a program that pairs up Whitworth students and Mead Middle School students together.  The mentor and student get to pick what they want to do, whether it be homework, hanging out, outdoor games, or even cooking.  The point is that students get to bond with someone who can offer some words of advice if they need it.  Middle school (or Jr. High, as I knew it) can be one of the roughest time in a persons life, if they don’t have the right kind of friends.  I thank God that I had the kind of friends that were good, mature people.  Come to think of it, the Cow People as we called ourselves (don’t ask me why, it was Amy’s name), were more mature in Jr. High than most people I knew in High School.So, I am pretty sure I am going to do this, and I talked to two guys that live in my dorm and they are probably going to do it too.  And it just so happens that our schedules next semester line up perfectly.  Coincidence?  I think not!  But, as with any big decision, I will pray about it and see where God leads me.  Hopefully it’s to Mead Middle School.

  1. Hi, Jaryd. Your aunt Jenny has been doing the middle school mentor program in Federal Way for the last two years. She really likes it. We are really proud of you. You really have your head screwed on right and your heart pointed in the right direction.

    Love,
    Nana & Papa Ihlen

  2. Way to go Jaryd, this is a great idea, and you would be good at it. Let us know how it works out. Love, Nana and Papa

Leave a Reply

