Jaryd

A Christmas Letter

In Blessing, Christmas, Whitworth on December 5, 2007 at 6:19 pm

Hey all, I was writing an informal essay for my Core 150 class, and we had to write about our ideal Christmas break (yes, they do call it Christmas break, thankfully) and how it matches up with our worldview (our core beliefs). The purpose of the paper is to analyze the disconnect between our beliefs and our actions. I wrote a section that really stuck out to me, and I thought I would share it, I hope you enjoy!

I am really trying to be more thankful for what I have, and that is why this Christmas I didn’t ask for much. I am starting to realize this year that there are some people who have nothing; I’ve always known that there are people that are less fortunate than I am, but it is really starting to impact my heart in a meaningful way. What right do I have to ask for DVDs or video games when there is a child right now in this vast, cold world of ours struggling to find clean water, struggling to eat, struggling to breath, struggling to live? What right do I have? How can I possibly justify my so called needs? How can I type up my Christmas list on my $2000 computer, in a room that protects me from the elements, at a school that costs $32,000 a year? I can’t. And that is what I am beginning to realize. For the more than 1 billion people living on $1 a day, it would take them more than 87 years to pay for education at Whitworth. What on God’s green Earth did I do (or will I do) to deserve these blessings? I have absolutely no idea how to answer that, and the only thing I can do is have faith that God can. I believe that God has a purpose for me, and for that purpose to come to fruition I need to be exactly where I am, and I thank God for that daily. Thank you, God for giving me my loving family, my caring friends, my schools, food to nourish my body, clean water to hydrate my being, and thank you, Lord, for your Word to nourish my soul.

  1. Very well written Jaryd and I am very proud that it is really starting to sink in how blessed we all are. I have always said that I feel that I won the lottery by being born in this country with the advantages that I have.

    Dad

  2. Jaryd,
    That was beautifully written! And oh so true! We are all so blessed to be in this country. See you soon.
    Love you,
    Mom

  3. We agree with your mom and dad. It was indeed very well written. Because we have recently read some things you have written I was inspired to search the Internet for a Thanksgiving prayer that I had previously recited at Thanksgiving. I couldn’t find the exact one, but I found one that was similar and it made us think of the things you have been saying. This was the prayer that was recited when we had Thanksgiving dinner at Marty & Lisa’s. I know you will continue to be the smart, considerate and level-headed person you have always been.

    Love Nana & Papa Ihlen

  4. This was so well written Jaryd. We are all so blessed with everything we have, and I love that YOU GET IT!!! WE are so blessed to have a wonderful grandson like you. Keep looking to God for your direction. Love you, Blue Nana and Papa

Leave a Reply

