Jaryd

I Have a Mentee! UPDATED 1/19/07

In Blessing, Mentors and Students Together, Spokane on January 17, 2008 at 2:52 pm

UPDATE:  I had my interview with Mentors and Students Together today, and I am happy to say that I have been matched with a student!  His name is Tyler; he’s a 7th grader and he is interested in music and needs a math mentor.  Some of the other mentors said he is the most thoughtful student they have ever interviewed, but lacks any self esteem.  I will hopefully meet him this Tuesday, or maybe next Tuesday.  I am going to bring my computer and MIDI keyboard so he can mess around in Garageband and make some music.  I hope it goes well! I received an email today explaining that I might have a student to mentor soon!  They have finished interviewing him and they think I would be a strong match.  I still have to go in for a more formal interview (although it really isn’t that formal at all) and attend a training session (which is more a get-to-know-you kind of event).  I am so excited that I will be able to hang out with a young man who just might need a little guidance now and then.  Please pray that all goes well and that he and I will bond so I can help him out whenever he needs it.

  1. That’s awesome! You will be so good at that. We will be praying and I’m sure that the Lord will send you the right preson.

    Dad

  2. How exciting, I know you will do a good job. We’ll be praying for you and the young man they are sending you. We’ll pray that God will give you just the right things to say at just the right time. Let us know how it goes.
    Love, Nana @ Papa

  3. Jaryd,
    That’s great. When will your interview be? And how soon will you begin meeting with him? I know you will do a great job and you will probably have a great time too.

    Love you,
    Mom

  4. That’s great, I hope you and Tyler hit it off. Let us know how it goes. Love, Nana

  5. You never cease to amaze us as you continually look for ways to help others. We are very proud of you.

    Love,
    Nana & Papa Ihlen

  6. Jaryd, why do you rock so much at life.
    Just wondering.
    Love,
    Kristen.

  7. Jaryd,

    You are bombdiggity!!!!!!!!! You are such a wonderful young man. I know you’re going to be awesome at being a mentor. Let me know how it goes. I’ve been mentoring for 2 years now. (yes your crazy Aunty Jenny is a mentor) I love it so much and her and I get along great and have so much fun together. Take care, I’m so proud of you and if you keep this up you’ll put Angelina Jolie and Brad Pitt to shame!!!!

Leave a Reply

