Jaryd

Mentoring

In Mentors and Students Together on February 8, 2008 at 9:31 pm

Yay!  I got to meet my mentee Tyler yesterday!  It was pretty cool.  I showed up to Mead Middle School a little late because I got out of my class late, and then I was sure I was lot; MMS is in the middle of no where, through an industrial district or something.  Weird, I know.  But I got there and he was waiting in the mentoring room for me.  I was introduced and we decided to play a game.  He picked Battleship and beat me.  I’ve never more complaisant to lose.  Then we played a game of chess, which I won (by a narrow margin).  I was told he was interested in music so I let him play around in Garageband on my mac and make some random music.  He really enjoyed it, so I am going to bring in my MIDI keyboard (like a piano that plugs into your computer).  He was pretty quiet the whole time, but he definitely wasn’t too shy to speak.  Hopefully he will feel more comfortable with me in a few weeks.  Everyone needs a little guidance and friendship.  I’ll keep you posted on everything. And feel free to tell all of your friends about this blog. 🙂  I could really use the visitors! 

  1. Update more often, buddy. I check almost every day.

  2. Glad you guys got to meet and hope things go well. Keep up the good work Jaryd:) I’m sure you will make a big difference in this boys life. Love Nana and Papa

Leave a Reply

