Jaryd

SERVE Coordinator

In SERVE, Whitworth on February 9, 2008 at 4:17 pm

Yesterday I applied for Whitworth’s SERVE (Students Eager to Respond to Volunteer Endeavors) Coordinator. Basically, I would be in charge of finding and organizing volunteer opportunities for Whitworth students, and I would be one of the people in charge of organizing Community Building Day. CBD is the one day a year that all Whitworth students, teachers, and staff go out into Spokane and work on different projects to improve Spokane. It is a huge project involving many people and many weeks of planning.

At the time when I turned in my application, only one other student had applied, so I have a pretty good change of being hired. Plus, they already know me pretty well in the Service Learning Department, so that might help me out as well.

I am a little worried about budgeting my time effectively, but I don’t think it will be a problem once I get into the swing of things. Another bonus: I will have my own little ‘office’ (a cubicle actually, but it is an office nonetheless!). It is a paid position, making $8.15/hour, with a maximum of 15 hours a week. I could potentially make almost $500 a month (before taxes).

So here’s to hoping – and praying – that I get the job. I feel I could do a lot of new and innovative things with the position. Please pray for me!

  1. I’m praying for you Jaryd. It sounds like the perfect job for you. You would be fantastic at that and a real assett to Whitworth. Keep us posted. I love you.
    Mom

    PS Can’t wait to see you on the 7th!

  2. Way to go Jaryd, we’ll be praying for you and I’m sure if that is where God wants you, you will get the job. It sounds like you are going to be very busy. Keep us up on what’s going on. We love you and are very proud of you. Love, Nana and Papa

  3. Jaryd, we have been down at the river and we know that you have had your interview by now. We can and will still pray that you get the position. We agree with your mom and Nana & Papa Cudney that this would be the perfect position for you. We are very much looking forward to seeing you on or about March 7th.

    Love, Nana & Papa

Leave a Reply

