Jaryd

Slack Lining and Geocaching

In Puyallup, Recreation on May 31, 2008 at 7:11 pm

Let me start out this post by saying that I love slack lining!  From Wikipedia:

Slacklining is a balance sport which utilizes nylon webbing stretched tight between two anchor points. Slacklining is distinct from tightrope walking in that the line is not held rigidly taut; it is instead dynamic, stretching and bouncing like a large narrow trampoline. The line’s tension can be adjusted to suit the user and different types of dynamic webbing can be used to achieve a variety of feats. The line itself is flat, due to the nature of webbing, thus keeping the slacker’s footing from rolling as would be the case with an ordinary rope. The dynamic nature of the line allows for impressive tricks and stunts.

Sounds pretty fun, huh?  It is pretty difficult to get started, though.  I couldn’t even take a step the first time I tried it.  The second day I did it was a bit shaky as well, but I took a few steps.  Then a few more.  And eventually I was balancing on the line for a minute at a time.  Now I can walk across the whole length of the line, and turn around; I immediately fall after the turning around part, though.  I want to get pretty good by the time I go back to Whitworth so I can show off my balancing skills.

Geocaching is my next biggest hobby.  I say next because I haven’t actually done it yet.  What is geocaching?  From Wikipedia:

Geocaching is an outdoor treasure-hunting game in which the participants use a Global Positioning System (GPS) receiver or other navigational techniques to hide and seek containers (called “geocaches” or “caches”) anywhere in the world. A typical cache is a small waterproof container containing a logbook and “treasure,” usually toys or trinkets of little value. Today, well over 800,000 geocaches are registered on various websites devoted to the pastime. Geocaches are currently placed in over 100 countries around the worldand on all seven continents, including Antarctica.[1]

Basically, geocaching is a global treasure hunt aided by GPS units.  There are a couple hundred in the Puyallup area even!  So I will have plenty to do this summer.  I am going on a test run of a cache with on my friends, then I will get a bigger group together later this month.  Maybe have a race to find two or three of them.  The possibilities are endless!!

  1. Hehehehhe… Well, I’m glad that you enjoy slacklining oh so much… By the time the summers over you’ll be able to walk down and back on the line! And then we can start working on other tricks! =) And – I’ve decided geocaching is my next biggest hobby as well! My only downfall is my lack of GPS system… So while you use me for my slackline, I’ll just have to use you for your GPS thing! Mwa haha.

Leave a Reply

